I made mistake in World Cup final – Referee Marciniak admits - Naijarecent
Connect with us
                               

Latest News

I made mistake in World Cup final – Referee Marciniak admits

Published

on

The referee who officiated the 2022 World Cup final, Szymon Marciniak, has admitted he made a wrong call during the game between Argentina and France.
Marciniak became the first official from Poland to take charge of the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has been widely praised by pundits and fans for his performance.

Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

However, the 41-year-old has confessed it was not a perfect outing for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Trending

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x